occoquan1's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Today, a journey in rain beneath a silvery sky split with light, a poem of darker leanings

Silvery sky...that shaded light that reminds me of September...the summer's last holiday before the fall. It's a beautiful light...precious and ethereal and altogether almost unreal. The trees beneath the canopy of sky are a green bordering on black. It's been raining on and off and the ground has traces of water. Drying slowly too. Not as hot as it has been, though there are still days of hellfire yet ahead this week according to the weather service.

Not much to report from this part of the planet. Things have been quiet all around. Home life has been relaxing, work has been ongoing as usual, but nothing new to report. The magickal life, of course, is magickal. That beauty never changes. I've been writing poems again. Twenty-Seven this month alone. Four more and I'll have written a poem for every day in August. :-)

Here is one I wrote yesterday about my embracing and enfolding the dark half into my being, which has been a challenge for me, as I've always been a light side kind of guy. Still we all have that dark half and it needs to be recognized and integrated.

Here is the poem:

Embracing the Dark Half

My darkest half now reigns supreme.
Light lost the battle of how things seem.
I embrace this dark half with all my heart,
For the next half-year we won't be apart.

It took me awhile to understand,
This dark half lives in every man.
I was always a creature of the light,
But in the dark half, I'll embrace the night.

With the dark half I am learning to be,
More than mere mortal eyes can see.
I am learning secrets of shadows and shade,
I am learning how all things can be unmade.

I embrace this darkness that has found me.
That hides and abides me and sets me free.
I may look like the person I used to be,
But as they say, looks may deceive.

The darkest half now rules the land,
And in my heart of hearts I understand,
That light and dark was always the plan.
In the darkness I'll make my stand.


Well, that's it for now. I'll be back later, if not tonight, than tomorrow.

Blessings,

Salem

6:57 p.m. - 08-09-05

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

raveneys-
ladyro
jackthripper
thehour
fiongalla
datura93
stargazer41
enchancea
hissandtell
ladyaudrey