occoquan1's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

In which the witch discusses the fall, Samhain, decorating, priorities, and Mabon

Good Afternoon Diary...

Golden sun is setting in the west. The colors of autumn have yet to make an appearance, except as artifice...fake pumpkings, artificial gourds and leaves...the colors of orange, purple, gold, and yellow are springing up around me in Mabon and Samhain decorations, at home and in the office. I am surrounded by slying grinning Jack-O-Laterns, purple bats on glittery black tinsel and orange pumpkins on glittery black tinsel. Grinning skulls smile invitingly and black cats with purple eyes wink in invitation to join the dance macabre that is Samhain.

I worry a bit because summer is hanging on here in the D.C. area. Sure, we've had a couple "cool" nights in the upper 40's, but by now, we should be seeing some major autumn foliage. We should have had a first frost. Yet, I look outside and I see a forest of bright green. I step outside and it's 80+ degrees. The leaves will change, or they will drop off, but it might be due to less sunlight, not to a major overnight chill. I worry that the seasons that I've come to know and love are disappearing. In my lifetime will I see a loss of our four seasons? Could we actually have warm weather year round? I think that this might be the case.

There are some things I need to do...I need to clear my mind a bit...I think I need to get out and walk a lot more than I have been. I stay tired all the time. I need to go back to the doctor and see what is up. It might just be emotional. That I can handle.

Magickally speaking, am I the only witch who still has yet to perform a Mabon ritual? I mean, I briefly acknowledged Mabon, but I really need to sit down and do it right. My altar is all decked out. Cleaned, fall items arranged. It's ready to go. Now I need to be the same way.

Blessings,

Salem

6:05 p.m. - 10-03-05

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

raveneys-
ladyro
jackthripper
thehour
fiongalla
datura93
stargazer41
enchancea
hissandtell
ladyaudrey