occoquan1's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

cat messes, gay witchcraft, wiccans with closed minds (!) and smudging...

My Goddess, what a hectic two days it's been! Mostly cleaning up the mess my cat made on the bed...poor baby, he gets hairballs and normally he'll get sick about once a month and get it all up...well...not this weekend...twice, the little bugger has gotten sick on my bedspread. This was Friday night...aftet getting back from my sister's place for festivities...another story...another day. So, I finally wonder upstairs to take a nap before the next round, when I find the mess, which I promptly pull up and through in the wash...three washings to get it all out, plus overflowing the washer! Another mess...plus cutting my hand on a sliver of Yule bulb that had broken...thought I got it all, but apparently not...So, yesterday, I was exhausted. Went out to visit friends last night and watch a video...come home and guess what? Cat's done it again! So I went through the whole process again last night...including flooding the washer...but at least it was only one washing. I've got the cleanest comforter in the country now. : - )

On a witchy note, I ordered Christopher Penzcak's "Gay Witchcraft" from "Woman's Wish." Had an interesting conversation with Arlene regarding the Farrar's are their insistance that it can only be male energy from a male and female energy from a female to perform so many of the rites mentioned in their books. Well, folks, it doesn't work that way for gay people. I've always believed that for gay and lesbian people (and for everyone really) male and female energy is inherent. Gay people can tap both, and essentially are Priestess and Priest, Goddess and God, and a walking "Great Rite." Surely the Goddess and the God want us to participate in their world as well? Yet, Grimassi, in the well researched "Wiccan Mysteries" believes that everything must be in a balance...and that both heterosexuality and homosexuality are polarities, that are not quite in synch. He believes that bisexuality is the appropriate approach to the issue of performing magick and working within a magicakal world. I say, if gay people exist, if gay animals exist (they do), then it's not a polarity, it's natural. As natural as a raindrop or the air we breathe.

Wicca is an accepting religion, but like any religion, I still seem to find some bias against gay people. I am sure that the Goddess and the God knew exactly what was going on when gay people appeared, and that any alterations to the rites to be more natural for gays and lesbians is completely acceptable to the Lord and Lady, whether or not it is acceptable to anyone here on earth.

I know it doesn't matter what anyone else thinks...it's my relationship with divinity that is important...but it still irks me that even within the wiccan community, you find close mindedness, couched in "Tradition."

OK, off my soapbox...for now. :-) On the good side, gonna smudge the house tonight...everything needs a good clearing and it's been a few months.

If you want to visit my website, click on the image above. Enjoy!

Peace,

Salem

2:21 p.m. - 2003-07-06

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

raveneys-
ladyro
jackthripper
thehour
fiongalla
datura93
stargazer41
enchancea
hissandtell
ladyaudrey