occoquan1's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I wonder through the heat of day, musing on decay and night

Active now. Shimmers of heat rise off the pavement. The sky is so hot it has faded from blue to white. So white that the sun melds into the background like one huge white canvas.

Got up this morning. Too early. Closed the curtains and fell back into deep sleep. The land of Nod was a most welcoming place. Woke an hour later with a feline stretched out near me...sleepy eyes perusing me to see if I would finally make an attempt to face the day.

I licked my lips. They were dry like parchment...dry like graveyard dust.
A realization that is never a realization burst in my brain...I am an 18 year old trapped in a slowly decaying 45 year old body. How did this happen?

Moved through the motions. Made the effort. Said goodbye to my sweet animal-babies and finally left the house. Oppressive heat hit me the moment I stepped outside. Luckily watered the garden enough to keep everything from drying up and blowing away. Reminder...buy more water. Need to rehydrate.

Sun is at it's fiercest now. Soon it will go down and blessed dark will descend. It'll be comfort to blend into the shadows and draw the coolness of night around me, tiny hot white stars my nighttime companions. A comfort indeed to hide and reflect in the shadows.

5:48 p.m. - 07-01-05

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

raveneys-
ladyro
jackthripper
thehour
fiongalla
datura93
stargazer41
enchancea
hissandtell
ladyaudrey