occoquan1's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

In which the witch, upon his journey, sends out Lughnasadh blessings from the wheel...weekend, speed-reading, devotions

Heat back upon the countryside. Hot and sticky, but within reasonable limits. More like real summer.

Weekend was quiet. Spent most of the time just hanging out, relaxing with the cats, doing general housework and cleaning. Nothing exciting.

Tonight, I will perform the Lughnasadh ritual, celebrating the first harvest, and the turning of the Wheel ever yet toward darkness. Can you feel the darkness descending, tick by tick of the clock, a shade darker every day? Hard to believe that Mabon is in six weeks.

Magickally speaking...I am racing through several tomes simultaneously...been working to get my reading capacity out of the gutter and back up to super-levels...of course not sacrificing comprehension. I normally read about 230 words a minute. Very slow. One time, a speed reading course was giving at school. In the space of a few minutes I was reading and comprehending at over 800 words a minute. I can still do this, but I need to trust myself that I am "getting" everything I need from the text. With books I am reading to enjoy, such as the Harry Potter series, I don't try to read that fast...I could, but I want to savor every word. But most everything else, I am trying to get back on the speed reading kick. Otherwise, too many half-read books lay around languishing. Not a good thing.

Well, here are a couple devotions I wrote for Lughnasadh a very long time ago...enjoy and blessings to you on this first harvest. Love, Salem

P.S. Please review the entry before last...it contains information about someone who preys on young woman. Thank you.

Lughnasadh Devotion

Lughnasadh, ancient, time of old,
the first harvest, of times true
and bold.

The God grows old, yet does not die,
in him our love and hopes abide, as
we begin first harvest-tide, as in
days of old.

We reap the bounty set before us, our
voices raised as in a chorus, magic,
music, chant implore us, now it's
harvest-time.

Soon, beloved Lord depart us, yet
our Lord will not desert us, in
the circle of the seasons, all
things have their time and reasons,
His bounty is yet here to please
us, at this, the harvest time.

We praise thee Lord of these things,
the simple grape, the wheat and grain,
we thank thee Lord for all our gain,
here at harvest-time.


Lughnasadh

Dearest God, Dearest Goddess, It is the first harvest and I find myself full of wonder and gratitude. Your children gather together this day, to mark the turning of the Wheel, and to harvest the bounty that You have provided. This bounty will sustain us in coming days ahead. Thank you for providing for your children, and blessing them once again with food to nourish both the body and the soul. I give thanks for the kindness and care that you've shown your children this year, and for the peace that comes with the knowledge that as the wheel turns, year after year, you will provide for us once again. Blessed Be.

8:03 p.m. - 08-01-05

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

raveneys-
ladyro
jackthripper
thehour
fiongalla
datura93
stargazer41
enchancea
hissandtell
ladyaudrey