occoquan1's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Journeying through the early August heat,...a walk, work, Lughnasadh, a poem

Still baking, but coping well enough. Took a long walk this afternoon, heat and all. After a quick lunch, spent the better part of an hour discovering some of the nearby locations of interest...decided for today to give the graveyard a rest. I mean, there are at least 5 graveyards all connected together. I am going to have to take a weekend afternoon to come up and look at these graveyards properly.

Life at work was hectic yesterday. Had a lot to do and got a lot done, and still have a lot to do. Working with a new contractor who is very enthusiastic, which is a good thing, but he calls a lot...7 times within 3 hours yesterday. It was mostly amusing. I am hoping that once he figures out his parameters and what he is supposed to be doing, he will call a little less frequently. In the meantime, I am glad he is aboard. I now have my contractor counterpart to rely on...soon. :-)

Magickally speaking, the Lughnasadh Sabbat rite went very well. Nothing was amiss and the rite went very smoothly. I was glad to actually be able to perform a proper rite on the proper day.

I am still working with the speed reading that I mentioned the other day...I am zipping through all the Llewellyn almanacs, 3 books on gay history, Merrick, Dunwich's cat book, and a Star Wars novel given to me recently for my birthday. All nearly simultaneouly. My biggest barrier is letting myself relax and just read. I know I can read and comprehend much faster than I normally do. It's exciting when I complete a book and remember exactly what I read. Speed reading has also come in handy, because I was getting farther and farther behind in all the books I wanted to read. Next? Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince.

Let me leave you for now with a poem I wrote the other day...


Casting the Circle

Darkness enfolds and gives me comfort,
Songs of magick soon will transport.
Black and purple and orange and gold,
Tales and secrets never been told.

Casting circle by pale moonlight,
Candles lit and growing quite bright.
Silver for Lady and Gold for Lord,
Casting circle by ritual sword.

Elements are called and invited,
Lord and Lady hailed and welcomed,
Feel the magick and get excited,
All are unified and none divided.

Worship, ritual, and magick our goal,
Placing offerings in the offering bowl,
Incense lit and swirling all around,
Love is magick and magick abounds.

Worship and rituals now complete,
Ale and Cakes I do now eat.
Uncast the circle, thank all for attending,
As they depart my love I am sending.

4:36 p.m. - 08-03-05

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

raveneys-
ladyro
jackthripper
thehour
fiongalla
datura93
stargazer41
enchancea
hissandtell
ladyaudrey