occoquan1's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Storm, Reading, Local Pagan Community

Hello Diary, just a quick entry on this lovely Saturday afternoon. I've been enjoying a very long weekend due to the storm...work was cancelled both Thursday and Friday and although it was a bit of touch and go, I survived surprisingly well...mainly just big branches hitting the roof of the house and having to pick up in the garden yesterday afternoon...blown over furniture, etc. I was blessed. Around here, some stores were closed due to problems...electricity or water damage, but only one traffic light was out yesterday, so not too bad. Depending on the location, some of my friends and family have no electricity or water. Some places are flooded...the danger of that remains through Monday. I've invited those who needed to, to stay here, but most want to stick it out at home...can't say I blame them. It may be a few days, but things will get back to what will pass for normal.

Other than the storm...which provided me ample time for housecleaning, things have been somewhat quiet. Mostly finishing up Wiccan Magick by Grimassi...really, I'm almost done. I just need to sit for an hour an finish it up. :-)

I received an email today from someone at Magick Mailbox who lives near me...they are interested in possibly meeting. That's exciting...to meet another magicakally inclined person nearby. Of course, picking the neutral location and all the precautions apply. If it turns out good, it might be an exciting start to establishing a magicakal community in the area...actually, I believe there is one, but they are either well hidden or long disbanded...either is a possibility. I know there are other Pagans in the community...I see them at the Wish occasionally...once in awhile I catch a bumper sticker on the back of a car with a pithy pagan phrase..."The Goddess is Alive and Magick is Afoot." :-) It's so conservative here...being near Washington, that most Pagans just blend in and hide...farther south in areas such as Richmond and Virginia Beach, the community is thriving. I would love to have that kind of community here, but I realize that takes time. Oh well...one person at a time. :-)

Peace,

Salem

2:09 p.m. - 2003-09-20

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

raveneys-
ladyro
jackthripper
thehour
fiongalla
datura93
stargazer41
enchancea
hissandtell
ladyaudrey