occoquan1's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Mabon, an Invite, Sabbat Ritual, Huntley Meadows, Mabon Invocation

Blessed Mabon/Autumnal Equinox Dear Diary! Been a quiet and productive day here at work. I am looking forward to tonight's ritual.

I received an invite from a fellow coworker...the one I had tea with two weekends ago, to stop by for some ritual cookies on the way home tonight, in celebration of Mabon. That should be fun...hopefully I'll get to see the haunted mirror. :-) She was preparing my horoscope too, so maybe that's done. That would be awesome. As another plus, her son appears to be a natural witch...pyschic, communicates with spirits, and follows the old religion...all naturally and from an early age. Seems to me he has retained his knowledge from an earlier incarnation. I am looking forward to the visit.

Afterwards, and after I get the kitties and the birdy settled in for the evening, I'll be performing my own Sabbat celebration for Mabon. I spent last night decorating the house in an autumn theme...decorative pumpkins everywhere...fall garlands on the banisters, fall wreath on the door. I also prepared the altar with fall decorations and colors. So, everything is pretty much set to go.

I would love to take a long walk in the park this afternoon...it seems the natural thing to do on the Fall Equinox, but unfortunately I get out of work too late this evening. Maybe I can save the walk until Saturday and go to Huntley Meadows, the big wetlands park. That place is awesome!

Here is a Mabon Invocation that I wrote, which is in my BoS:

Mabon

Dearest God, Dearest Goddess, It is now the second harvest and I find myself looking towards the Fall with a sense of wonder and gratitude. As the God prepares to descend to the underworld, your children gather together, to mark the turning of the Wheel. Life prepares to rest and the stores that will sustain us in the bleakness of winter are now gathered in. The days of Darkness and Light are balanced, if only momentarily, and the wheel continues its turn towards the dark half of the year. I realize that the dark half of the year is necessary, that rest is essential, and I rejoice in knowing that there is a season devoted to looking inward and reflecting on the Great Wheel and all that it means. I give thanks for the knowledge that after the darkness comes the light, that the season of darkness is only that, a season, and as life renews eternal, the warmth and beauty of light half of the year will return once again. Blessed Be.

Peace,

Salem

3:44 p.m. - 2003-09-23

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

raveneys-
ladyro
jackthripper
thehour
fiongalla
datura93
stargazer41
enchancea
hissandtell
ladyaudrey