occoquan1's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Weekend, Bunnyman Bridge, Huntley Meadows

Good Afternoon Diary! Been a fun and interesting weekend, so far. Got all the housework done too!

Yesterday, I went back to the Bunnyman Bridge. It really was right around the bend from where those two trucks were blocking the way. My impressions? Well, something(s) is definitely there...even in broad daylight, you can feel a kind of "presence." The tunnel isn't very long...maybe 20 feet or so, and it's been cleaned up since "Scariest Places on Earth." Yet, being cleaned up doesn't seem to affect its eerieness quotient. The bridge/tunnel exists beyond what appears to be the proper end to Colchester road. After the "Dead End" sign, the road turns into a single lane that winds around a corner...and into view comes the Bunnyman Bridge. The neighborhood beyond the bridge...yes, there are houses beyond the bridge seem to be well to do people...there is a huge relatively recent mansion at the top of one hill, whose driveway I used to turn around to head back to the Bridge after going through the tunnel. I didn't travel to the end of the one lane road, but I might just out of curiosity, to see what lies at the end of the lane. I spent about 15 minutes at the Bridge...I never did get out of the car...mainly because there was traffic...more than you would think for this little out of the way place. Next time though, I probably will get out of the car and take some photos. Yes, there will be a next time. :-)

I also made it to Huntley Meadows Park yesterday...a definitely change over from the B-Man Bridge. I walked along nature trails that went through forest and wetlands and enjoyed being in the woods. Very quiet, except for a few people who didn't realize that all the noise they made scared away all the wildlife they came to see. I think I am going to go back to making Huntley Meadows a biweekly weekend event.

Well, the weekend is yet to be done, it's sunny outside, and the day is waiting to be explored. :-)

Peace,

Salem

1:22 p.m. - 2003-10-05

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

raveneys-
ladyro
jackthripper
thehour
fiongalla
datura93
stargazer41
enchancea
hissandtell
ladyaudrey