occoquan1's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Short Day, Orange Moon, Cold White Stars, and Swirling Fog, Samhain Preparations

Good Afternoon Diary...short day for me today...which is good, because there is a lot to do.

Last night, on my way home from work, the moon was hanging in the sky, right on the horizon, a huge orange crecent, like a slice of cantaloupe...very errie and very beautiful. As I approached Woodbridge, the fog kicked in, hovering above the river, swirling and thick, seemingly impregnated with the spirits of those gone before. Above the mist of the fog, hugging the river, the stars shown brightly. As I drove, I pondered the thinning of the veil between the world of the spirits and this world. The orange moon, the bright white stars shining in the black velvet sky, the thick blanketing fog...all seemed to herald this special time. As Samhain approaches, I can feel the spirits as they begin to broach the veil and join us for this special night of the year. Can you?

Tonight, I will begin to prepare for Samhain...many Witches will begin their rites at sundown tonight and continue for 24 hours. I will perform my Samhain rites tomorrow night, after all the little trick-or-treaters have come and gone. Tonight, I will begin my celebration of Samhain...setting up the altar, purchasing apples to leave as offerings for the dead, and finding a candle and candle holder to place in my bedroom window tomorrow night when I finally go to sleep...a light to guide the dead on their journey. Tomorrow, I will leave the some of the apples outside to nourish the dead, some I will place on my altar as gifts to the departed. At the Samhain rite, I will perform divinations to discern what to expect in the coming year. I will place photos of my dearly departed on the altar, and I will talk with them, and let them know how much I love them, and miss them.

I may attempt a dead supper, though I don't really cook much. Maybe I'll set a portion of whatever meal I partake of aside for those who have gone before. I will look around the corners of doors into darkened rooms to catch a glimpse of the spirits I will do some of the silly stuff I do as well...the old one about looking into a mirror after sundown to see a reflection of oneself at the moment of death.

But mostly, and most importantly, I will commune with those I love who have gone before me.

Peace,

Salem

1:53 p.m. - 2003-10-30

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

raveneys-
ladyro
jackthripper
thehour
fiongalla
datura93
stargazer41
enchancea
hissandtell
ladyaudrey