occoquan1's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Trick-or-Treaters, Samhain preparations, The New Year

Blessed Samhain, Diary...it's an hour after sundown and the kids are out in force...I've gone through the equivalent of 3 bags of candy in an hours time...one more to go and then the outside lights get cut off. :-D

I spent the day preparing for tonight's rite. The altar is decorated in seasonal colors...leaves, flowers, apples...no pomagranates as I couldn't find any at the store. I've placed photos of my dearly departed on the altar...and I thumbed through RavenWolf's "Halloween", Dunwich's "Pagan Book of Halloween", and Campenelli's "Wheel of the Year", each of which have tons of fascinating information on Samhain.

I've prepared a plate of delicious red apples to leave as an offering for the souls of the departed, and will deposit that outside after the hubbub. Later this evening, I will light a candle for the spirits and leave it in the window in my room while I sleep, to guide them on their journeys.

This Samhain, I've been better prepared than in the past...it's definitely a delight to be ahead of the curve, than running in and trying to set things up at the last minute, while dealing with the ringing doorbell.

I am glad I started early, because while readying my altar for this evening, I discovered I was short on Goddess/God candles and illuminator candles. Granted, I could use just about any candles, but I prefer to use the appropriate representational candles. So, a trip to the Wish was in order...that was a nice surprise.

I do have a movie night to attend this evening with B and L, so I will perform the rite when I return. It'll be late, so I definitely won't be disturbed.

As I type, I see a waxing crescent moon shining through my window...I read in Dunwich's "Pagan Book of Halloween" that a waxing crescent on Samhain fortells of very good luck for the coming year. With the impending move, and location of a new home, I can use that luck to keep things smooth. :-)

I hope all who read this have a very blessed and meaningful Samhain, and a prosperous New Year.

Peace,

Salem

6:58 p.m. - 2003-10-31

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

raveneys-
ladyro
jackthripper
thehour
fiongalla
datura93
stargazer41
enchancea
hissandtell
ladyaudrey