occoquan1's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Move, The Room Store, Yule Shopping, Yuletide Cards, Yule Tree, Cats and Yule

Good Evening Diary...it's a bit past the witching hour, but here I am still awake. :-) Been a somewhat productive day, though the chill put me off a bit. Got two loads moved to storage, which made me feel good.

Got to go to "The Room Store" and look at possible replacements for the broken down old furniture I currently have...well, it's not really that broken down, but it came from a rent to sell place, bought as a lot, so it's functional but not all that attractive. It's nice to be able to look at some nice furniture and know that in a few short days, I'll actually be able to purchase some good pieces.

Did a little Yule shopping...realized that I must have already moved my Yule cards in a previous lot to temporary storage, so I ended up buying some more...this year, most of them will just be handed out directly instead of mailed...too much going on with change of addresses this time to send the cards. Only those who live far away will get a mailed card. After I move, then I'll send a change of address card to everyone. Whew!

Got home this evening and cleared out another closet...this time with the intent of setting up my already decorated Yule tree. I cleaned out a closet earlier and found a bunch of Yule decorations, so I put them all together into one large Yule display, spread between my dresser and my bookcase. That will make it easier to pack and move right before I vacate. Then those items will be among the first to be set back up. But, back to the Yule tree...this is obviously an artificial tree...it was my primary tree two years ago, and last year, it migrated up stairs to my sitting room, its place taken by a larger tree. This year, the larger tree has already been moved to temporary storage, and this tree, which was placed in a closet, was brought back out and set on the smaller of two dining room tables that I own. It looks great...all beaded fruit and beaded and wooden cranberries...all kitty safe...along with some natural items to tie it all together. Come the last day I am here, I can unplug the lights, grab the tree by the center, and move the whole thing out to the car...or whatever vehicle...since I've had offers of help. Then I can just plug the tree back in at the new place...and again, instant Yuletide joy. :-) But I still plan to decorate the larger tree this year...I have a whole slew of German glass ornaments, but I think I might try all silver, gold, white, and cream, with white lights. Something calm and relaxing. Once the big tree is up, I'll move the little tree to either my room or the library room. It's hectic, but fun trying to move and do the Yuletide thing as well. :-)

Just to mention briefly before I head to bed...my cats are just like kids...they seemed to be as excited to see the tree go up as I am. They gravitated right to it. :-) Year before last, they slept under it. :-)

Peace and Bright Blessings...

Salem

1:27 a.m. - 2003-11-30

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

raveneys-
ladyro
jackthripper
thehour
fiongalla
datura93
stargazer41
enchancea
hissandtell
ladyaudrey