occoquan1's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bookcases, Dad

Good Evening Diary...it's late...almost two a.m. Been a very weird day. The bookcases arrived and I've begun loading up books from various boxes onto them. It's really nice to see all the books in one place. I've still got boxes of books in storage, so hopefully when all is said and done, I'll have enough room. I am definitely not triaging my books!

OK, here's the weird part. My Dad is 77...my Mom passed away about 5 years ago, so he is living alone. Well, he has been getting into it with his neighbors, here at the condominium community where we both live. Turns out he hasn't been sleeping well. Neighbors on both ends banging and yelling at him through the walls all hours of the night. Well...seems like Dad has begun hallucinating...hearing conversations in his head, which he believes are the neighbors speaking to him telepathically...he is hearing threats and such. Now, being Wiccan, I am the first to believe in any possibility, including telepathic conversations and threats...but if Dad is hallucinating, it's either a medication problem or the beginning of dementia. He has a doctor's appointment scheduled for Wednesday...and though he believes he is perfectly fine, and sounds fine, actually, it's going to take some conjoling for him to go to the doctor. It's possible that he go for allergies, and then they will test for dementia. If it's dementia, it must be very early, because outside the "hearing conversations" he seems perfectly rational. What I think may be happening is that the problem with the noises, banging, and threats are real, and that Dad is also possibly starting either experience dementia or needs to adjust his medication(s). So the two experiences are combining into a very strange situation.

Of course, in the middle of a seemingly rational conversation, he told me that while sitting in a bar, he put on his sunglasses and the guy next to him was an alien..."big eyes" and all that. And when he removed the glasses the guy looked human. He said the guy nodded perceptibly at him and then left the bar. I told Dad that the sunglasses thing came from the movie "They Live" but he didn't hear that, or chose not to. Apparently he has called the FBI, which referred him to the local authorities. When my Dad told me he called the FBI to tell them that he is being communicated to telepathically, possibly by aliens who have been here a thousand years, or possibly by foreign spys, I am sure my eyes popped out of my head.

I am praying to the Goddess and God and to Mom to help us find the right solution to this dilemma, one that will help Dad and be for the good of all. I hope that one presents itself...I really hope that all that is required is a medication adjustment.

My sister is staying with him tonight to see if she hears anything out of the ordinary, and my other sister is staying tomorrow night, and I will spend the night on Sunday. I am sure he will be sick of all of us by the end of the weekend.

Well, I am exhausted...

Peace and Blessed Be,

Salem

1:48 a.m. - 04-03-04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

raveneys-
ladyro
jackthripper
thehour
fiongalla
datura93
stargazer41
enchancea
hissandtell
ladyaudrey