occoquan1's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Witch Schools, What It Means to Be a Witch

Good Evening Dear Diary�

I've had two separate invitations to join Witch schools in the past two days�Temple of Isis and Lady of the Moon. From the emails and the visiting the websites, they must either be run by the same organization or be close affiliates. Although they may be "Witch-diploma" training mills, I am tempted to apply to one or both, if only to get some outside independent contact and training. I am going to be milling (no pun intended) this over for the next few days until I can make a decision. Of course I am going to use a pendulum, consult the Tarot and the Runes, and commune with Deity to see if this is the path I should be taking. It's online, so I can maintain my Solitary eclectism, and yet still be a part of a larger community. And both these Witch schools offer degrees�each degree contains anywhere from 30 to 50 lessons to be completed with an initiation at the end of each degree. So, this is something to think about. At least in these schools, you can work at your own pace, which (still no pun intended) is good for someone such as myself who works a 10 hour or more day, and usually gets home after 9:00 p.m. I can still pursue lessons, and yet be able to spend time with the kitties and the birdy, all of whom demand lots of attention from Dad when he gets home. : - )

I am a minister of the Universal Life Church's Orderae Occultis, which ordained me back in January as a Magickal Minister and Certified Witch (I'm not sure about the Certified part�sounds kind of like Certifiably crazy�). With a little research, I can perform legal weddings, handfastings, etc. It's a good thing, and seems to be a right step in my evolution as a Witch during this current lifetime.

In my way of thinking, a training course such as Temple of Isis offers would only be an asset. They provide training, a way to earn the degrees of a particular tradition of Witchcraft, a way to earn the title of High Priest within a functioning tradition, and a way to form a genuine coven once all training has been completed. They will even offer advice and assist in the formation of a coven, should I desire to pursue that direction once training is complete.

This is not to negate my individual training and studies, which have been ongoing for the past 15 years. I self-dedicated on the Summer Solstice back in 1990 after a year and a day of study. I was drawn to the Old Ways and knew right away that the path of the Witch was the right one for me. I consider myself my own High Priest. I follow the Wheel of the Year, and perform all the Sabbat and Esbat rituals. I have an affinity for Tarot and divination in general. I perform spells and know that magick works. I see beyond ordinary appearances to the understanding that life itself is a magickal revelation. I joyously walk with the Gods, and hear the call of the Old Ways in my life every day. I partner with the Gods in everything I do, and work with divinity to empower my life. In other words, I am a Witch. In breath, body, and soul. I have always been and always will be.

What does this mean? It means that whether I choose to join Temple of Isis or Lady of the Moon or any other school of thought, that their conferring degrees or titles on me telling me that I am a witch doesn't matter because I already know that I am a Witch and have been so for many a year. I think this is a lesson that many Witches need to realize�that they don't need the approval of others to be a "real" witch. And that if so called traditional witches disapprove of you or "pooh-pooh" the idea that you are a witch, what does it matter? If you study, if you follow the wheel of the year, if you practice, and if you truly desire to follow the Old Ways and walk with Divinity, than indeed you are a witch. And no one else can tell you otherwise.

Peace and Brightest of Blessings,

Salem Drake

Magickal Minister and Certified Witch : - )

Orderae Occultis of the Universal Life Church

7:12 p.m. - 04-27-04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

raveneys-
ladyro
jackthripper
thehour
fiongalla
datura93
stargazer41
enchancea
hissandtell
ladyaudrey