occoquan1's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Work, Lammas Rites, Circle Castings

Happy Monday Diary,

Just wanted to stop by and say hello. :-) Things are good. Not been a productive day, but that's OK...most days are completely and overwhelmingly productive, so a good down-time day was in order.

I finally was able to perform the rites for Lammas. I was planning to do so during the day, but ended up performing them at night. The moon was an orange and waning crescent hanging low in the night sky, and as it was late, it was dark and very quiet. I decide to cast the circle without an athame and used my finger instead. First, I traced a pentacle above my altar, than physically moved the pentacle to all four directions as a sign of respect. I returned the pentacle to above my altar (which faces west because of furniture and home design contraints) and then turned to face north. I begin tracing the circle with my finger and as soon as I had traced the circle, a distinct hum could be heard...kind of like an ohm. I requested the presence of the elements and invited the Lord and Lady. I read the rites of Lammas from my BoS...those that I had written myself, instead of from one or more of my favorite authors. I performed no magicks or divinations this time. When the rite was complete, I thanked the elements for their attendance, I thanked the Lord and Lady for their attendance, and then I closed the circle.

This rite was a little more spontaneous than my normal rites, and things seemed a bit different. With the circle casting, using my finger seemed to provide a different kind of circle...the color was less intense, almost unnoticable, yet there was a definite energy hum that I don't normally achieve with my regular circles, using my athame. The regular circles have more color, though a bit wavy or mottled. With my finger the color was lighter, but more pure.

Well, that's pretty much it for this evening. Peace and Blessings to You.

Salem

6:15 p.m. - 08-09-04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

raveneys-
ladyro
jackthripper
thehour
fiongalla
datura93
stargazer41
enchancea
hissandtell
ladyaudrey