occoquan1's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Mom, Dad

Good Evening Diary...

Just a few brief words...been a few days, but a lot has been happening.

Today five years ago, my Mom passed away. I miss her so much, and I know she watches over the family.

September has been a hard month to get through ever since. I love September's golden days and cooler nights, but it's just a hard month now to go through.

My Dad is in the hospital. He fell and shattered his hipbone on Saturday...or...the hipbone shattered and caused him to fall. Not sure which yet. The doctor is sending a part of the bone to be tested for bone disease or cancer. I hope it's neither. Dad looked a mess yesterday. He fell and hit his face on the ground...bruises, swelling, welts, cuts, gashes, and a bruised eye. He had an operation yesterday to replace the shattered ball joint in his hip. Today, he looks better...still beat up, but less swelling, and he seems to have done OK with the operation. They were to have him up and walking today, and discharged by Thursday or Friday. Then comes two weeks to a month of physical therapy 3 times a week.

He wants to be home, so that means he will be there for awhile. He lives on the third floor of his condo, and the ambulance will deliver him home on a stretcher. But once he gets there, he won't be leaving for awhile.

Things will definitely be different for him, for me, and for the family until he recovers sufficiently. I expect I'll be buying his groceries, running errands, cleaning house, and cooking meals for awhile. And someone will have to be around to let the therapist in. I am curious as to how I am going to work this around work. I guess this is going to be a one day at a time situation. The important thing is that he get well soon.

Well, that's it for this evening.

Blessings,

Salem

10:24 p.m. - 09-27-04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

raveneys-
ladyro
jackthripper
thehour
fiongalla
datura93
stargazer41
enchancea
hissandtell
ladyaudrey