occoquan1's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Samhain, Halloween, Roaming Spirits, Turning the Wheel, Food for the Dead, Thanks

Good Evening My Witchy Friends...

Did you all have a meaningful and Blessed Samhain? I have been celebrating the Days of the Dead for 3 days now, and tonight I will finally settle down and perform the Sabbat. I've been battling a cold in my jaw...well, mostly in my tooth, but I have finally gotten it under control, thanks to being tender with it, using healing color therapy, and calling on the healing spirits to assist in the healing process.

It's definitely a tightrope walking between secular Halloween and spiritual Samhain. Sunday night after waiting for the kiddies, I bundled up and spent the evening with two very good friends. We settled in and watched the 1962 version of "The Haunting." Spooky. :-) As I was leaving, I noticed how the trees, shadows, road signs, and even the plays of light from street lamps resolved themselves into the roaming spirits of Samhain. Funny how you can see them quite plainly one moment, and the next, they fade into what appears to be nothing more than an ordinary street sign, or a tree branch. But we know better don't we?

To honor the Turning of the Wheel, and the bounty that I've received in the past year, and what I hope to be able to look forward to in the new year, I spoke a little prayer to the Goddess and the God, thanking them for everything, both in the past and in the year to come. It was short, but meaningful.

I also left out food to nourish the souls of the departed, and kept a light in the window to help the departed find their way. Before I went out Samhain evening, I annointed myself with Dittany of Crete...it's connection with the world of the spirits was helpful in my being able to "sense" them.

Thanks to everyone who has sent my Samhain greetings and wishes...I do appreciate them and return them in kind.
Also before I forget, I wanted to mention what I bought at the RenFest recently...it was a hooded wool jacket, cut in a style similar to the cape I bought last year, but shorter, which makes it a little easier for driving. :-) It's an excellent piece of clothing, cut with a Renaissance-style flair. If I ever get a digital camera, I'll take a couple of pics and post them. :-)

Peace,

Salem

7:24 p.m. - 11-02-04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

raveneys-
ladyro
jackthripper
thehour
fiongalla
datura93
stargazer41
enchancea
hissandtell
ladyaudrey