occoquan1's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Poem: Key West

Good Evening Diary...

Here is a little poem I wrote to celebrate Key West, a town that I really love...

Key West

Several small islands all lined in a row,
Key West nearly the last, among them, just so.

Green as an emerald, tossed in a lazy sea,
Blue sky above, as if it's meant just for me.

Not a big island, just two miles by four,
I can walk the whole key in less than an hour, no more.

Rush to the harbor as the sun goes down, sky splashed with
Crimson, sea breezes like down.

The falling of night signals the start of delight,
And from bar to bar, I soon will alight.

Then at the end of a very long day, three in the morning, or later perhaps,
A dip in the pool, my late night nightcap.

White clouds above scuttling like crabs in the velvet night sky,
Stars twinkling above, sweetly gentle like a sigh.

To bed in a guesthouse, all friendly and fun, and then to
Awake, for another day in the sun.

This to me is the essence of Key West, a place in the sun,
Where life is the best.

And if you should get a chance to go, tell them I sent you,
Everyone knows me, you know.

Well, just to say that I am very, very sleepy today, but other than that, all is well.

Love,

Salem

6:13 p.m. - 04-12-05

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

raveneys-
ladyro
jackthripper
thehour
fiongalla
datura93
stargazer41
enchancea
hissandtell
ladyaudrey