occoquan1's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Journey through daytime...ruminations of the seasons, life, light, darkness, and cats.

Daylight. Afternoon. Rain promising. Thunderheads faraway along the horizon. The sky has a silver sheen much like that seen in winter...where a promise of snow would be likely, but not absolute.

Yet here, where I am, oppressive heat. Feeling dreary...eyes red-rimmed from too many long sleepless nights tossing and turning, watching the heat lighting flash through the slatted blinds of my window.

Skin feels just a tad too tight. It's pulling back like a plastic bag surrounding my head and then drawn back into a knot. Maybe I need some moisturizer? Of course, then I would break out. No win situation. Dry skin or pimples.

I find myself being drawn towards Lughnassadh...I am ready for the wheel to turn and move me beyond the heat of summer, of which I am already finding myself weary.

My garden, through maticulous care is thriving...a riot of color and a profusion of life spilling out and over my balcony. I am sure my neighbors below me don't like it as they get the fallout...deadheads, dead leaves, dead buds...etc. However, it looks good from the street and everyone else loves it. Yay for me and the garden. And the mantis is doing his job...no spiders so far this season...no hornets either. Nothing. I am pleased. Last season, the whole of the balcony was a tiny spider city...I counted more than thirty, before I began my extermination. I am just deathly afraid of the things.

Wish I could just put out the lights and lay back for a couple of hours. I need rest...seriously. I also need exercise...why is it always like a complication of two or more extremes? The things that are bad for you are the best tasting...the only way to stay healthy is the exercise and eat right...it's like life gives it too you and takes it away all in the same breath. I am sure someone, somewhere is getting a laugh at this.

I pray darkness descends soon...fat chance...four hours yet. I would love to go home, clean my altar, cast circle, and perhaps just meditate or do some healing energy work, in the dark, in the peaceful quiet and silence of the magick room...also known as "the den." Those who've been to my website have seen the photo of the altar. I love that it is in a roll-top desk. So convenient. And no feline friends walking through the tools instead of around the altar. Sieggy and Roy are always drawn to the energies of casting the circle, working magick, calling the elements, and inviting diety. They love it with an intense curiosity. However, as I believe I've stated before, they are not my familiars...I choose to call them my friends. They are welcome at all my rituals, but I don't require them to be there.

Hours to go and work yet to do. Where is that rain?

--

Night. Fell. Sky the color of opalescent pearl tinged with the pink of lightly blushed berries on the vine, gave way to a sky of the deepest blue velvet, like that of a dress ready for an evening at the opera, stars twinkling as tiny sweet adornments.

A breeze, just the tiniest of air current rustled the leaves on the trees, making a lilting natural symphony. No crickets yet. No cricket song. That is yet to come...in the dreadful heat of August.

Night. Velvet blue gave way to deepest black, stars shining like salt on an ebony table cloth. Soon time for sweet repose. Tomorrow, another tumultuous time at the dentist. Never, ever ready for that much fun. Yet, it has to be done.

Sleep well dear readers. I think of you often, and wish you well.

4:18 p.m. - 07-06-05

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

raveneys-
ladyro
jackthripper
thehour
fiongalla
datura93
stargazer41
enchancea
hissandtell
ladyaudrey