occoquan1's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A Journey through the heat of the desert as this witch looks forward to Lughnassad and beyond

I wonder if it's cooler in the desert? It was so hot last night that I felt the breath being drawn out of my body. It is definitely unhealthy for me to be outside for any length of time while the weather continues to be like this. I've been pouring gallons of water on my garden in the hopes of keeping everything alive until the heatwave passes. So far so good. The tropicals of course are thriving, what with Washington's famous humidity, but the impatients are water hogs and wilt if they aren't drenched. The are working me, I am telling you. :-)

Magickally speaking, I've been feeling inspired...the BoS is coming along splendidly, been doing my daily routines of studying and scrying. I wrote a number of new poems and posted them at WitchVox...that was good, because I've felt my creativity wilting with the heat.

From my office window on the 8th floor of my building, the sky is not blue, but white, like blinding white hot. the trees, green just a week ago, have that less green, slightly fried look that the trees usually get at the end of the summer. Haze hangs in the air...whether it is smog or the haze of humidity is undeterminable from this distance, but I am guessing it's humidity. Much of the Washington area was swampland at one time, so in the summer the environment reverts back to a swamp-like feel. Heat, stickiness, etc.

Next month towards the end of August, the Maryland Rennaissance Festival kicks off, and runs until mid-October. I haven't been opening weekend in ages, and I was hoping to go this time, but if the weather isn't cooperating, I might just have to wait until late September or even early October. I'd rather go early to get a better pick of the merchandise, and because all the perfomers seem "fresher" somehow at the beginning than at the end.

Next Monday is Lughnassad. Though the year has been moving by rather quickly, I still get started that we are already at the first harvest ritual. Once Lughnassad arrives, then it will be only 6 weeks until the Autumnal Equinox. Seems sometimes like the Wheel of the Year is a bicycle wheel and it's moving along rather quickly.

Love and Hugs,

Salem

1:14 p.m. - 07-26-05

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

raveneys-
ladyro
jackthripper
thehour
fiongalla
datura93
stargazer41
enchancea
hissandtell
ladyaudrey