occoquan1's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A journey of the witch through the water-logged city of New Orleans

Late now...time for bed. I had to put poor drowned New Orleans out of my head, I was going crazy thinking about that poor city, and the injustice done to her and her citizenry, both human and animal.

I am thinking farther ahead to the future, when I'll get a room at the Frenchman, and spend a week strolling through her streets and through her cemeteries, explore all the mysticism, magick, and romance that she'll again have to offer. I have to believe that. I can't believe the little voice inside my head saying it might already be too late, that the storm mortally wounded her, killed her soul. I can't believe that. Even when the day comes that New Orleans is reclaimed by the sea, perhaps in the far distance water-logged future of a globally warmed climate, her soul, her magick, her charms will still cry out to us.

And so I plan for a future that includes New Orleans...a day when I will stroll her flower-fragranced, darkened streets, strings of lights twinkling, beckoning. When I can take the graveyard tours, the Anne Rice tours, the ghost tours...and after this New Orleans will be full, completely full of ghosts. I long to hear her enchanting music, to eat at her famous restaurants, to down some good chicory coffee.

I pray to the Goddess and the God for the recovery of New Orleans...not just physically, but the recovery of her people, her spirit, her soul. I will do my part, both financially and spiritually. As some wise person said when New York was attacked by terrorists..."We are all New Yorkers now." Well, now "We are all part of New Orleans."

Love and Blessings,

Salem

12:35 a.m. - 09-08-05

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

raveneys-
ladyro
jackthripper
thehour
fiongalla
datura93
stargazer41
enchancea
hissandtell
ladyaudrey