occoquan1's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The witch, still journeying through descimated New Orleans

Night. Moving on beyond the disaster that surrounds once-beautiful New Orleans. I can't get my mind around the fact that this beloved city has been so throughly let-down, put-down, and destroyed. I am so anxious for her to be restored, that I am willing to jump a year ahead to see where she stands on August 29, 2006...a year to the day after Katrina struck.

I know she will recover...she's got to. She is the queen of dark and beautiful dreams, the heart and home of strange magicks...one of only a few sactuaries of pagan peoples.

What has happened to Bloody Mary? The the Ghost Tours? To the cemeteries? I know the French Quarter still stands...the St. Louis Cathedral, the Garden District. The Cafe du Monde.

I worry that once everyone who is holding out is driven from the city, that the city will be either ransacked by thugs, destroyed by fire, or bulldozed by man. We must, we must save the city, her people, her way of life. And yet, she must be improved. The massive amount of poverty must be stemmed and set right. Her people, the heart of the city, must be encouraged to return.

Once the all clear is given, I will be finding a way to get to New Orleans. I will be spending my tourist dollars proping this city back up. New Orleans lived on the tourist industry. This is one way I can think of to help her survive. The other is to donate...money to the Red Cross, to the Humane Society of America.

We pagan peoples, witches, wiccans, and all must be the light to fight the darkness that is descending on the world, slowly but most assuredly. If we and all we cherish are to survive, we must fight. We fight for the light, we fight for our lives, we fight for our hearts, we fight for whom and what we love.


Blessings to You,

Salem

8:37 p.m. - 09-09-05

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

raveneys-
ladyro
jackthripper
thehour
fiongalla
datura93
stargazer41
enchancea
hissandtell
ladyaudrey