occoquan1's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A journey of the witch into magickal Samhian

Good Evening Dearest Diary...

I am writing on this eve before Samhain, and I do feel the spirits gathering around me. My altar is prepared...has been prepared for weeks...and the only thing missing are the photos of my loved ones who have passed on. Those I will begin to add over the next 24 hours.

The early part of the evening will be devoted to the handing out of treats and the admiration of costumes, and at 9:00 p.m., the door will lock and remained closed. Pumpkins will blaze in the darkness, the wind will moan slightly, and ritual will begin.

I look forward to looking into the future on this night, receiving messages from those dear ones who have passed on...remembering to leave food on the balcony to nourish the souls of those who have passed on...leaving a candle in the window to guide the spirits of the departed; burying food outside the front stoop to also nourish the spirits of the dead. I will perform rites both mundane and profound...from looking in a mirror in a darkened room to see what I will look like when I die, to peeking around the corners of doors to catch a glimpse of the dead. I will divine the next twelve months with all manner of scrying, tarot, runes, ouija, and pendulum. I will have a dumb supper and set a place for spirits to dine. And when all is through, I will thank the spirits who have come through the veil for a visit, and send with them back through the veil my deepest love. And then I will celebrate the new year. I plan to extend my celebration this year to include the Days of the Dead...November 1st and 2nd, and honor some of the traditions of that holiday...sugar skulls and pan de muerte, and the lighting of candles on the graves of beloved departed, and having a picnic near the grave. Life and Death are intertwined. This is the lesson of these days. And love never, ever, dies.

Samhain Blessings to You,

Salem

3:34 a.m. - 10-30-05

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

raveneys-
ladyro
jackthripper
thehour
fiongalla
datura93
stargazer41
enchancea
hissandtell
ladyaudrey